Midnight Kitchen

First Annual Cookie Contest

On December 5, I was hanging out talking cookies on a warm, windy afternoon behind a big church. We used our cell phones as paperweights to hold down the bagged cookies.

I’ve never been a judge in a cookie contest before. It was as fun as you would think; not just for getting to taste a bunch of different cookies, but to think about my own baking experience, talking to the other judge (well, there were supposed to be 3 of us), and then hearing the stories behind the cookie recipes. I managed to carve our 15 minutes of tasting and note-taking before the family found me and gathered around, offering their opinions though they were obediently hands-off.

The “50 states” theme was a cool idea, especially since most (40-some?) states are represented by the university students who participated. The contest was part of a fundraiser for a local music program, so I was happy to help with prizes, too. My hopes for next year’s contest: more publicity, a photographer, more entries/state reps, and a hands-on workshop for participants (after the contest…hey, I’ll teach!)

This entry was published on December 13, 2010 at 1:19 am. It’s filed under Food and Cooking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “First Annual Cookie Contest

  1. Maggie Donnelly on said:

    This blog is great!!! Are you making your famous chocolate cake with peppermint frosting? I’m planning on giving it another try this christmas along with the spiked homemade eggnog!! Oh tis the season for jolly times and baking in the kitchen!

    • Thanks! I will be making that cake again, it’s my winter favorite. (see Epicurious for recipe) Maybe as soon as tomorrow night for a Las Posadas celebration at the kindergarten, since I didn’t find a traditional Mexican cake for celebrating Christmas. Might pass on the nog, though–it’s a no-booze Christmas for me and not the healthiest, especially since there’ll be no 4-mile run Christmas morn. Enjoy your holiday (& baking) with your family!

Leave a Reply

