Midnight Kitchen

Mount Dora Village Market

MtDora.Clermont.PlantCity-317

Farmers’ Market Report: July 7, 2013, Mount Dora, Florida


The Village Market (Sundays at Elizabeth Evans Park in Mount Dora), at least on that baking hot July morning, was one of those tiny ones. Not rows and rows of stalls, crowded with people trying not to bump into each other, but a handful of canopies, plenty of strolling space, and a few tables in the shrinking shade of an elderly live oak tree. I feel awkward, like everyone is watching me arrive. They’re not, my kids loopy behavior ensures that. If I’m feeling self-conscious, it probably doesn’t help that I’m carrying a camera. But I’ve decided to take it everywhere.

MtDora.Clermont.PlantCity-318

MtDora.Clermont.PlantCity-331

Maybe I will also take my DH everywhere, because once he got to talking with the Soap Nuts couple, I relaxed enough to chat up the beekeeper, and that’s when my eye relaxed and I got a good photo or two. We also chatted up the barbecue ladies, the moss-and-shells artist, and the produce vendor. The produce guy gave us a taste of watermelon, which was good melon, and we bought one, but the homely Valencia oranges and cherry chili peppers we took home without sampling, were really better.

MtDoraMarket

Ready to go? Read more about the market here.

This entry was published on July 13, 2013 at 11:22 pm. It’s filed under Farmers' Markets and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

